Defining Team Roles0:01
One of the biggest benefits of Forges Business Plan is the ability to share your servers. And if you want your server providers with members of your team, when we're building a team in Forge, the first thing we need to do is decide who has access to the team. And in order to do so, we have to define what roles they might have. So let's get started by defining our roles.
what roles they might have. So let's get started by defining our roles. We go to settings and roles and outta the box, we already have five roles, owner, admin, manager, developer and viewer. And you can see that you by default get owner access, full access to all organization settings, servers, and team members. You can do absolutely everything. And the admin can do almost everything except managing
You can do absolutely everything. And the admin can do almost everything except managing or signing or rules. Managers can manage servers in the team, but they're not managing your high level settings like billing or other organization settings. Developers can have full access to servers and sites, but they're not creating new servers. And finally, viewers can look at everything but they can't make any actual changes of their own.
And finally, viewers can look at everything but they can't make any actual changes of their own. And if none of these fit what you're looking for, you can also create custom roles. So if you got a new role, you can say QA and can give it an informal description if you need, uh, for the QA team. And then you can work through this entire set of permissions and decide which of these you want them to be able to do or not do to create your specific custom role.
Creating a Team1:13
and decide which of these you want them to be able to do or not do to create your specific custom role. So now that we've defined our roles, let's create our first team. We're gonna go to Teams and new team, and we'll just name this one, Tighten Developers. And now that we have a team, we can look at every aspect of what we control. So first of all, we can invite a member, we can choose what role they're gonna be attached to when we invite them,
Managing Team Access1:32
So first of all, we can invite a member, we can choose what role they're gonna be attached to when we invite them, including our custom roles. We type their email address here, we send invite, and then they're gonna get an invite to either add their existing account to our team or create a new account and then add it to our team. We can also look at servers. Every team is given specific access to specific servers. So let's say we'll add the production
Every team is given specific access to specific servers. So let's say we'll add the production but not the staging server. Again, when we set up our members here, the role they have here defines not just how they interact with Forge itself, but also with the specific servers that we've attached to this team. We can also manage access to recipes, which we haven't covered in this video yet. But basically when you have recipes stored on your account,
which we haven't covered in this video yet. But basically when you have recipes stored on your account, you can attach them to specific teams. So those recipes are shared with all members of the teams. You can share server providers if you want. You can say, I want everyone to have access to my Digital Ocean, my team account, or my Laravel VPS account. And again, this could give them incredible permissions to create new servers,
Inviting and Accepting Users2:27
And again, this could give them incredible permissions to create new servers, but it could not, depending on what their specific role allows. And finally, settings. There's not a lot going on here. You can just basically give it an avatar or delete it. So to flesh out our team, let's just create a new member really quickly called Matt Testing video at Tighten Co. He's going to be a view only user,
Testing video at Tighten Co. He's going to be a view only user, so we'll send that invite. Now we can see we have this invitation from Forge. It says you've been invited to the Tighten Developers team on Laravel Forge. So we're gonna open this up in a different browser. Let's go over to Safari and we'll paste in this URL. And it allows you to either sign in or create an account. And so this invitation can be to an existing user
And it allows you to either sign in or create an account. And so this invitation can be to an existing user or to a brand new user. So let's create an account. This is Matt testing, invited for laracasts. And what was that email address we just used Matt plus testing video at Tighten. Echo grabbed our email verification link. And I don't wanna do all this right now.
verification link. And I don't wanna do all this right now. I'm just gonna go grab that URL again and say, yep, I want to join this team on Forge so I can be logged in to my personal testing one or this one I was just invited to. And so you can see I have access to the one server, but I can't actually do anything on this server. Missing permissions, you don't have the necessary permission to add a database.
Missing permissions, you don't have the necessary permission to add a database. So now we have the secondary user who has access to whatever we wanted to give them access to whatever servers, whatever permissions. And we have complete control, not only on what the team is able to do, but also what the specific user is able to do on this team. And now we can see back on this page, we have this new user invited
Adding Existing Users4:15
And now we can see back on this page, we have this new user invited and I showed us how to look at the invite by email option, but there is also this add users button. If you have any other users in your organization for any reason because they're a part of a different team or whatever else, you can add them more easily than what we just did by just typing in their name here, finding them in this list, choosing which role you want them to have and hitting save.
Migrating From Circles4:35
finding them in this list, choosing which role you want them to have and hitting save. So it makes it a little bit easier for you to do that invitation without worrying about going through the email invite workflow. Now, there's one more thing I wanna cover here, which is, if you have an existing Forge account, what it's gonna look like for your members and your teams coming over from circles in Forge 1.0 for every single circle
and your teams coming over from circles in Forge 1.0 for every single circle that you had in your Forge 1.0 account, you're gonna see a team with that same name and those same members. So that's pretty easy. The only thing that's nuanced and different is that circles have permissions directly on the circle and teams don't. So for every single unique permission set that you had in your circles,
So for every single unique permission set that you had in your circles, you're gonna have a new role show up in settings roles. If you go down to the bottom, you're gonna look at custom roles. And each different set of possible permissions is gonna have a new role. And it's gonna say something like custom roll and then just some randomly generated characters. And those characters are just randomly generated
and then just some randomly generated characters. And those characters are just randomly generated 'cause they don't know what you intended. They don't have the way to come up with some kind of a short name. And so basically when they move that circle over, they're gonna keep the name of the circle and the members of the circle and the servers of the circle. And then they're gonna have that unique role that represents the permissions from the circle attached
And then they're gonna have that unique role that represents the permissions from the circle attached to all those users to define their relationship with the team. So don't be worrying if you show up and you see all these random custom roles and you don't know where they're coming from, or if you're worried you're gonna lose all of your circle ability in your team, it's all still there. It's just created in those randomized custom roles.
of your circle ability in your team, it's all still there. It's just created in those randomized custom roles. 'cause that's how their importer works.
